Diary of a Consumer

Posted on Updated on

Sometimes we all need a swift kick in the backside to get up off the couch and go do cool stuff. Sometimes we just need to watch a video. One thing I truly enjoy about social media is being able to follow my favorite brands and gain inspiration from the things they post. Nothing opens up your eyes to what the world has to offer like a good marketing campaign…

Jokes aside, I am a huge fan of a solid video edit and easily impressioned by visual images. That’s what a brand is all about, right? My Pinterest boards are digital proof of this – simply a collection of images I like and ideas I may one day put into action. Likewise, I see ads on Facebook and Twitter and think, Oh! I’d like to have that!  However, I rarely actually buy anything. What got me thinking about this was a survey I recently answered about social media and marketing.

I gave the most conflicting answers, I probably screwed up their entire study. Yes, I think a social media presence is necessary for a successful brand. No, I don’t often make purchases based on what I see in my “newsfeed.” Yes, I do shop online. Am I just a singular, troubled consumer? Or are there more people out there like me? How in the world are marketers supposed to make any sense of what I just said? To be honest, I don’t have a real answer, and pretending to have one will probably just make me look even more silly.

My ruling is this: Brands via social media make us instantly feel more connected to them. They get lumped in with posts from our friends and favorite celebrities, so whether we realize it or not, we’re automatically connecting those companies to the things we like as individuals. It’s an advertiser’s dream. Yet, it doesn’t always return profit.

Not being a business major myself (or anything close), this will probably always remain a  mystery to me. If you have any feedback or would like to enlighten me, please share in the comments section! Otherwise, enjoy this video that makes me want to get up off the couch.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/72471214″>This is Backcountry</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/backcountry”>Backcountry.com</a&gt; on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Leave a Reply

